top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBecky Whitcomb

Places I'm Daydreaming About in Quarantine

Hello, lovelies!


I hope everyone is staying healthy and sane inside. I'm trying my best, but I've come to terms that everyday is a roller coaster of emotions- and that's okay! What gets me through everyday is a morning routine and carving out time to write. I have a couple of projects I'm working on right now (really exciting!), but I love writing on this blog because it allows me to research and write about my favorite subject: Adventure.

We've all been stuck inside the house for the past 11 weeks, and most of us have spent the better part of our day visualizing what we are going to do once we're allowed out of the house again.


Here are some of the places I've been daydreaming about...

 

Kalalau Trail - Kaua'i, HI



These 22 miles of jaw-dropping scenery are located along the Nāpali Coast in Hāʻena State Park. The traditional route is 11 miles out and 11 miles back and requires a permit to hike, but if hiking isn't your thing you can visit the beaches within the first two miles with a day pass and reservation.

The trail closed for about 14 months due to flood damage (the area saw 50 inches of rainfall in a 24 hour period!) and re-opened to visitors just about a year ago.


I discovered this hike last year about a month after we came back from our Southwest National Parks trip, and it gives me serious bouts of wanderlust. I've hiked in the mountains, in a canyon, in the amazon, but I haven't checked "hiking along an ocean" off of my list yet. By all accounts it sounds pretty challenging... so sign me up!


You can find more information about the trail here: https://www.kalalautrail.com


 

Loire Valley - France



About 100 miles South of Paris and spanning 170 miles along the river lies the Loire Valley, and it has everything.

Cuisine? Check!

Wine? Check!

Castles? Check!

Immaculately curated Renaissance-style gardens? CHECK!


The area known as the Cradle of the French, the Garden of France, and Château Country was first a military stronghold during medieval times, but as history passed, the area transformed into pleasure palaces for royalty and the elite. The largest and grandest castle is located in Chambord. Built for King Francis (François) I in the 1500s, the château took 1,800 workmen 15 years to complete!


The Loire Valley is so gorgeous and full of history that the central part of the area was added to the list of UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 2000.


I'm not sure if everyone else grew up watching historical fiction movies based in the times of the Renaissance and Regency periods, but this girl's family did. I love a good walk in nature, but I cannot resist an historic piece of architecture. I discovered this region back in 2014 and had planned to go on my first solo trip, but ended up not having the time. Next time, I'll make sure I fit this one in.


If you want to learn more about the Loire Valley, Rick Steves (most trusted granddaddy of tourism) has an extensive YouTube video you can view HERE


 

Croatia



A lot of us now know Croatia from watching Game of Thrones and/or Outlander (Fun Fact: the 2nd season of Outlander, which was set in France, was actually filmed in Croatia! Sing me a sooooooong!), but did you know that the country boasts a 6,000km-long coast, 1,000 islands, 8 National Parks, 11 Nature Parks, and 10 UNESCO World Heritage Sites?


I honestly had never heard of Croatia until my first trip to Europe, but type in a quick Google search and you'll find the stunning variety pictured above. I don't know much about that part of the world. I don't really know too many people that have visited Southeast European countries like Albania, Montenegro, or Slovenia so I can't wait to plan an adventure and learn more!


I found this travel guide online while searching for more information: https://www.roughguides.com/destinations/europe/croatia/


 

What places are you daydreaming about in quarantine?

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page